The new, inclusive, broad, balanced and challenging curriculum gives schools and practitioners more responsibility for determining what is taught. This responsibility sits within a curriculum that comprises:

  • common Areas of Learning and Experience (AoLEs) from ages 3 to 16
  • progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16
  • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point
  • three cross-curriculum repsonsibilities – literacy, numeracy and digital competence

The new curriculum sets the parameters for each AoLE. These are:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and well-being
  • Humanities
  • Languages, literacy and communication
  • Mathematics and numeracy
  • Science and technology.

Each AoLE includes, where appropriate, a Welsh dimension as well as an international and UK perspective. Schools are be able to use the AoLEs to determine their own curriculum and how it should be organised.